Skip to content

IT Support 1/3: HP

September 5, 2015

During the last few years, I encountered some computer-related problems which I tried to solve by calling tech support. Three of those encounters are worth being told about (actually four, but the last one is about a musical instrument, so I will not put it on Planet KDE). Today’s story is the shortest one and as such the one, I could even smile about afterwards. The second story was (and still is) worth a head-shaking and the third one gave me a stomach ulcer and panic attacks. Have fun. :)

Shut up and take my money!

So one day in the distand past (means: February of the year 2015) I decided to get myself a small home server for file synchronisation, media server and for playing around in general. The HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 seemed just about right for my purposes so I was sold for that.

Have you tried clearing the NVRAM?

When it arrived, one of the NICs seemed odd, so I took a picture…

Broken NIC

Broken NIC


…and sent it to HP’s tech support.

Tech support called me a few hours later and the guy at the other end started by asking, if I already tried to fix the issue by clearing the NVRAM. After my short but descriptive “what?!” he explained to me how I could clear the NVRAM just before I told him that I did not even switch on the server yet. He was surprised and wanted to know how I then knew, the NIC was broken. That’s when I pointed him to the picture, I sent in. Silence. So I explained to him what could be seen on said picture and he asked if he could put me through to another colleague. I agreed.

I will spare you the details of that second conversation but it was basically the same.
Cleared NVRAM? No. Why? See picure please. … … NIC is broken hardware-wise. Ah, ok. We will send you a permission sheet so you can bring it back to your retailer.

I have never needed a permission sheet to send something back right after the purchase. Not sure why in this case. Maybe because ProLiant is part of the business series?

In the end…

All good. The server I received in return was alright then and is happily in use now. But what is the point in them asking you to send in a picture of the defect if they then seem not to be able to look at that picture. A world of wonders. :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kollin permalink
    September 6, 2015 9:59 am

    But did you at least clear the NVRAM on the second server you got ? Just in case, of course. :D :D :D

  2. September 11, 2015 8:32 pm

    No I did not. But I will do so if ANY problem occurs. :D

Leave a Reply

