Skip to content

Japanese — Second Day

January 24, 2012

So, this is the second day of learning Japanese with the Rosetta Stone stuff. Since my version might as well be ten years old, it sure feels like time travelling. Other than that it is quite nice, though. I even try to read everything out loud. I hope it is worth the embarrassment of sounding awkward and will pay off later.

Yesterday I pointed out that it is hard to distinguish between “onnanohito” and “otokonohito” on some pictures. It seems the people who entered the words had that problem as well. The same picture is referred to as “otokonoko” in one lesson and “otokonohito” one lesson later.

On one picture you might even confuse “inu” with “ume” if you do not look closely. :D

I would post screenshots. But these are the sharepression ages, so I better not enrage our almighty corp leaders.

I also started learning Hiragana again (I actually started before the holidays but then forgot about it due to all the visiting) so I am confident that I can switch from Romaji to Hiragana display in a few days. It will slow me down as hell at first, but I am sure it will pay off soon.

Now I just have to figure out how to type Hiragana in Linux/KDE. sKim seems to be discontinued and scim-bridge-client-qt4 the way to go, but I did not read the instructions yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

