Skip to content

Minor German Translation Update

March 17, 2013

Hi, long time no post. Not that I have been a very frequent writer here in earlier days, but I needed a reason to tell you that my paid job is taking quite some space in my schedule recently.

Sidenote for those interested: I am working at a company that is doing the automation and conveyor technology for Porsche in Leipzig/Germany and several other rather Volkswagen-centric companies. So it’s all Windows and crappy industrial software for me now. That brought me quite far away from KDE and Linux in general. I am still using Linux with KDE on my private laptop, but there is so little free time now that I barely see the KDE desktop anymore. And if I do, the hotel’s internet is probably down. I am planning to write a rather KDE-unrelated post about software development in the automotive industry, but that will have to wait for the automotive industry to change in a way that gives its service providers enough room to breathe. :D

Following the development of me being rather Windows-centric these days, describing my involvement in the German translation as “sparse” would be rather generous. If it wasn’t for Burkhard Lück (he himself holder of an Akademy award), we probably would not have a German translation in 4.10. Big Thank You for that!

One thing I want to mention though is that as of this weekend the German KDE translation follows the rest of the world regarding the translation of “Trash”. For some reason we have been using “Mülleimer” since … forever. GNOME, Windows, Mac OS X and probably everyone else is using “Papierkorb”. For the non-German speakers: “Mülleimer” is more like the thing in the kitchen, while “Papierkorb” is its office equivalent. So, big “Yay” here from my side.

That I am celebrating a small (but nice) thing like that, shows that the German translation team is in a rather sad state of decline. A few years ago, there were about six to ten active translators. Now there are two (if you are positive enough to count me).

I am planning on writing a post about what it takes to be a translator hoping that we find someone who is willing to take responsibility to be a long-term contributor, but … well, as said, lacking free time. :)

So, I hope there are some folks out there who appreciate the new “Papierkorb” and more generally the German KDE translation and even more generally German translations and most generally translations in all languages.

Have fun. :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. uniq permalink
    March 17, 2013 9:59 pm

    Actually I liked the Mülleimer more, because you throw all kind of stuff away. Papier is more of a recycling thing. I guess it’s personal taste.
    What are the requirements to help translating? Is there some kind of user interface to just enter missing translation and some place to discuss unclear translations? I could image to help you guys, if the entry barrier is not too high.

  2. ehaubold permalink
    March 22, 2013 2:34 am

    i’d like to have a look at some translations, but i don’t have much time a day. so if it’s just as simple as opening a translation tool and do some stuff (or something similar ;) ), i’d love to help.

  3. March 29, 2013 7:40 am

    There are no special requirements. Just being good in reading English and writing German. The rest is about reading some docs, learning the tools (svn, po editor) and finding just the right compromise between working in a team and working indipendently. :)

    I want to write a post about it. Maybe I find some time this (long) week end. :)

  4. March 29, 2013 7:41 am

    Well, there is always some learning involved. If you just start translating, the translation will not be consistent with the other translations. So at least during the first time, you will have to invest some time to learn the rules and tools.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

